Skip to main content

How can I add and manage account users?

Where to look when you need to invite more people to access your BlueTally account

It's very likely that your IT team is more than one person, which means multiple people may need to access the BlueTally account you created for your organization. So let's talk about how you add them.

Without SSO

If your organization does not use Single Sign-On, then you will add new users directly through your BlueTally account. Simply visit the Settings page by clicking on the profile icon found in the upper right corner of your screen, then navigate to the Account Users section.

As long as you have Administrator-level permissions within your BlueTally account, you should see an option to invite new users.

From there, you can enter your new user's full name, email, and desired permission level. To learn more about Permission Levels, please visit this section of the article.

*If you don't have Administrator-level permissions, then this option won't appear for you. If this is the case or you already know that you do not have Admin-level access on your BlueTally account, please visit this section of the article for next steps.

After you've filled out the three required fields, click the blue Invite button. The page will then refresh, and you will see a green message confirming the new user was invited successfully.

The new user will receive an invite via email, where they can follow the prompts to officially get themselves set up in your BlueTally account.

With SSO

If your organization has already configured Single Sign-On for your BlueTally account, you can invite new users directly through your given identity provider. The new user will then be notified that they can sign in to BlueTally via SSO. They will appear under the Account Users section on your Settings page after their first login.

After the user appears in this section, you can then update their permission level to the appropriate access you would like them to have. Please see the Managing Account Users section below for more information.

To learn more about our SSO integrations, please see our corresponding Knowledge Base article, How does the Single Sign-On (SSO) integration work?

Managing Account Users

If you need to edit an account user's information or permission level, or remove them altogether, you'll be able to do this directly from the Account User section of your BlueTally Settings page, regardless of whether you added them with or without an SSO integration.

First, click the View Account Users button.

This will open a page where you can see additional details about each of your current Account Users, including their permission level, join date, and more.

The pencil icon will allow you to edit their profile.

The trash can icon will let you delete their profile.

Please be advised that this can only be done if you have the Administrator permission level. If the edit and delete options do not appear for you, or you already know you don't have Administrator permissions, please visit this section of the article for next steps.

User Permission Levels

You can determine how much an account user can see or interact with on your BlueTally account by setting their Permission Level. By default, all BlueTally accounts have the following:

  • Administrator: These users have full access to the account. They can manage the account settings, invite and manage other account users, enable 2FA, and handle all forms of data entry on your BlueTally instance.

  • Manager: These users can create, read, update, and delete data entries on your instance. They can also check items in or out. They cannot change or update any account settings across your instance.

  • Operator: These users can only view items and check items in or out. They cannot edit, create, or delete any data.

If you are subscribed to the Business or Corporate plan, you can also create Custom Permission Levels and set them for your account users. Learn more in the corresponding Knowledge Base guide: How do Custom Permission Levels work?

If you are a Corporate subscriber, you can also set the My Items and My Direct Report permission level as a dedicated employee portal for any employee to see what equipment they have assigned to them and nothing else. Learn more in the corresponding Knowledge Base guide: How does the "My Items & My Direct Reports Items" Permission Level work?

Can't see options to add or manage users?

This probably means you haven't been given the level of access or Permission Level to manage your account users. If that is the case, please email someone within your organization who has admin-level access and can either invite the new user for you or update your permission level to Administrator so you can do it yourself.

If you don't know who has admin permissions on your BlueTally account, contact our support team, and they will look this up for you and assist you further.

Did this answer your question?